Beast 120

22 Jul

I know that I just wrote about having brunch at Beast, but I was there again last week for 120, which is their version of happy hour. During 120 you can get snacks and wine for $5 and beer for just $4. There’s a special menu just for 120 and it changes all the time. Here’s a little sample of what you can look forward to:

The "poutine" at Beast restaurant in Toronto

The "poutine" at Beast restaurant in Toronto

My first dish was the “poutine”. Yes, on the menu it’s in brackets. Why? Because, as you can see from the second photo, it’s not made with fries. Instead, it’s made with a moist, fluffy deep-friend gnocchi. Gnocchi + poutine? The minute that I saw this I knew that I needed to try it. The meat and gravy element comes in the form of a braised beef cheek, and the cheese curds were your classic squeaky cheese curds. I loved this and I hope that it stays on the menu because I’d order it again next time without thinking twice.

Shrimp po' boy at Beast restaurant in Toronto

I was dining with my friend Heather of Food, Travel and Fun with an Uptown Girl and her friends, and she ordered the spot prawn po’ boy. I’ve never had a po’ boy before and would have nothing to compare this to, but Heather liked it and said that the spread was very interesting. I just thought that it was so cute and pretty… I had to take a photo.

Fried zucchini blossoms at Beast restaurant in Toronto

My last snack of the evening was the fried zucchini blossoms. This was my first time trying zucchini blossoms and I thought that these were fantastic. The blossoms themselves were very buttery and the coating had a nice light crunch to it, and they had some pimento cheese in them to give them some bite and liven them up a bit.

Beast has a very heavy focus on local and seasonal ingredients (they proudly display a list of their suppliers on their website), which is why the menu changes so often. It’s one of the things that I love about eating there: You know that you’re always going to get something fresh and something new and exciting every time. The beer and wine list is all local as well, with some great Ontario craft beers like Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion and Neustadt 10w30 (which was what I had), and wines from Flatrock, Lailey and Rosehall Run.

Beast 120 runs from 5pm to 7pm Wednesday-Saturday.

Beast
96 Tecumseth St.
Toronto, ON
647.352.6000
thebeastrestaurant.com
@BeastRestaurant

2 Responses to “Beast 120”

  1. nadine July 22, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    yum yum… so hungry

  2. Grace February 17, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I had attended the restaurant for a friend’s 30th birthday and got a big shock. This place came recommend by another friend as great food and service. We were all shocked to get the most snobby attitude from the “owner” and waitress. they carried themselves as if this place was a fine dinner 5 star restaurant, which is totally not!! They were dressed in jeans and a fleece zip sweater. The table water was strap from the tap which we could see the waitress filling it at the sink. We could also watch her marry vodka bottle right in front of us. When asking the waitress what were certain items on the menu that had no description she was make a snarled face and tell as if we should already know. This was terrible considering there were 12 of us on a Wednesday night and nobody else was in the restaurant. The birthday boy’s fiancé had brought in a cake since this place doesn’t specialize in desert or advertise anything about it. The owner first refused to serve her cake then said if she does serve it she has to charge $3 per plate. That was completely insane that the owner would charge a plate rental fee for cake after getting a 12person party on a ordinary Wednesday night when there is no one else in the place. I am disgusted by the service of this place as a GM of a bar and restaurant myself. I do not recommend this place you are far better off spending your money and time at another establishment.

Leave a Reply

