At Home: Orange Cornmeal Cake

7 May

I know that so far this blog has been about eating out in Toronto, and it will continue to be mostly about that. But I do cook and eat at home sometimes, so when I whip up a gem I want to share it with you.

The inspiration for this cake came from Rossy Earle (@PanCanCooks on Twitter), who posted a photo of her breakfast yesterday morning: A slice of homemade lemon cornmeal cake and a cup of coffee. I had never heard of cornmeal cake before, but the idea appealed to me. 20 minutes later I was in the kitchen making this cake.

I got the recipe from Everyday Baking, but made a couple of changes. Here’s my version:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil, plus more for pan
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Finely grated zest of 1 orange
  • Orange segments, for serving (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Brush bottom and sides of a bundt  cake pan with oil.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together oil, eggs, 1 cup sugar, and wine until smooth. Add flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and orange zest; whisk gently to combine.
  3. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake until cake begins to pull away from sides of pan and a tester inserted in center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes.
  4. Cool in pan 20 minutes. Run a knife around edge of cake; invert cake gently onto a plate. Serve with orange segments, if desired.

The result is a light cake with the texture of cornbread, but with the clean citrus tones that I always crave when the weather starts to warm up. This would be a great cake to take as a hostess gift at someone’s place for brunch, or to bake as a refreshing dessert for your next barbecue. It’s great in the morning as a not-so-healthy breakfast or as a late night snack. I’m sure that I’ll be making it again soon!

Leave a Reply

