Table 17

18 Apr

On Sunday morning, Richard and I found ourselves with some free time and a desire for brunch. Table 17 has been our our list of places to check out. It’s close to our house and it always looks full of happy diners when we walk by. We decided that it was the perfect morning to give it a try.

We started off with a couple of drinks. I got the brunch standard: a mimosa. Richard decided to be adventurous and got a Blanche de Chambly with OJ. It was pretty much the same idea as a mimosa, but with white beer instead of champagne. Blanche de Chambly is a good beer for mixing with orange juice because it has citrus notes in it already.

Richard’s brunch: The Farmer’s breakfast. This came with a scotch egg, pork rillettes, a hard cheese and a soft cheese, plus gherkins, greens and bread. The rillettes were perfect. It was my first time trying a scotch egg and I loved it! It had a sort of mustard-y smell to the crust, and the texture was nice – crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. The cheese wasn’t anything special – I would have liked to see something a bit more interesting. Both were quite mild.

If you’re ordering the farmer’s breakfast, chances are that you’ll want to order something else on the side. It’s not as substantial as other brunch staples like eggs benedict or quiche. For our sides we ordered potato rosti and bangers. Richard had a hard time deciding whether he liked the rosti, but I think that it’s because he’s used to denser Jewish latkes. The bangers were juicy and just a little spicy. I couldn’t help but smirk at the association to this scene from Arrested Development as I ate them.

My brunch: The Alsatian Tart. It had caramelized onions, blue cheese, bacon lardons and fresh pear. I can’t believe that I used to hate blue cheese! I can’t think of any cheese that would have been as good as blue cheese in this tart. The mix of salty and sweet flavours was outstanding and the puff pastry made it feel very indulgent, which is what brunch should be, don’t you think?

We were hoping to finish off our meal with a chocolate croissant (brought in from Bonjour Brioche), but they were all out by the time we asked! We settled for a cranberry roll instead. It was good, but Richard ate more of it than I did. I’m not a huge fan of cranberry. Personal preference, I guess. It’s just too tart for me.

One of the things that I love about Table 17 is that they’re social media savvy. They have a Twitter account that they use to actually interact with their followers, and that earns big points in my books. I like to feel like I know the restaurant that I’m visiting. Plus, the more I see a restaurant in the Twitter-verse, the more curious I become about them. It definitely tells me that the restaurant is modern and cares about their business. If you’re on Twitter, you can follow them at @table17.

Table 17
782 Queen St. East
Toronto, ON. M4M 1H4
(416) 519-1851
table17.ca
@table17

Table 17 on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Table 17”

  1. Stella April 18, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Oh I so need to get that Alsatian tart next time! My favourite cheese is blue cheese and wow with bacon, what more can I ask for? :) Great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers